Gemünden am Main (kreis)
From Heraldry of the World
|Heraldry of the World|
Civic heraldry of Germany - Deutsche Wappen (Gemeindewappen/Kreiswappen)
GEMÜNDEN AM MAIN (GEM)
The arms were granted on September 15, 1955.
The arms show the arms of the Counts of Rieneck, who ruled the largest part of the district from the 12th century until 1559. The wavy bars represent the rivers Sinn and Saale that run into the Main river.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.